Stamps inscribed 'B.I.O.T.' or 'British Indian Ocean Territory'

< - 1968 Parts of Mauritius and The Seychelles
1968 - 1976 BIOT stamps used
1976 -> Aldabra Atoll, the Farquhar Atoll and Desroches Island returned to the Syechelles
1976 - 1990 Military postal service only
1990 ->

From 1968: 1 Rupee (SCR) = 100 Cents
From 1990: 1 Pound (GBP) = 100 Pence
Checklists > Countries > BIOT Heraldic Cats
Also see BIOT Wild Cats

List status: Incomplete / under construction
If you have corrections or addendae to this list, please send an e-mail to


Issue Item code Item type Face value Remarks SC
1971 Opening of the Royal Society Research Station on Aldabra IO19710531 ST 3_50 Stamp 3.50 Heraldic Lion
6 Lions Passant Guardant
Royal Society CoA
MI 43

2012 Diamond Jubilee of HM Queen Elizabeth II

Joint issue with Ascension, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Cook Islands, Gibraltar, Isle of Man, St. Lucia, St. Helena, Tristan da Cunha

IO20120206 MS 3_02 Miniature sheet 3.02 Heraldic Lion (on selvedge)
Crowned Lion Rampant
Single-stamp MS
MI B37

List compiled by Geir Arveng with valuable information from Elisabeth Hallsjö.
Latest update: 14 November, 2015